IMCA Insights – October 2008
2008 IMCA Board & Officer Election Results
by Norbert Classen

Dear Members, Dear Visitors,

We have been very busy on the IMCA Board of Directors after the recent public Elections, and we'd like to use this platform to officially announce the results. In our annual Elections, three new Board Members have been elected by our Membership for a term of three years:

Martin Altmann
Larry Lebofsky
Sergey Vasiliev

Congratulations to the three of you, and welcome on Board. Our thanks goes also to the Candidates who didn't make it, this year - we hope that you will run for the Board in 2009!

There has been another change on the IMCA Board of Directors prior to our internal Officers Election. Board Member Pierre-Marie Pelé resigned from the Board for private reasons, and we accepted his resignation and thanked him for all his work, and his contributions during the last two years. So we had to say goodbye to Pierre-Marie Pelé, as well as to our Board Member and Secretary Adam Hupé, and longtime Board Member Christian Anger who were not up for re-election, this year. Thanks to all of you - it has been a pleasure to serve with you on the Board!

Pierre-Marie's vacation had to be filled according to the regulations of our ByLaws, and so we had another look at the public Election results, and decided to assign the vacant Board position to Peter Marmet who was up for re-election, and who has been "number four" in our public Elections. Peter will serve Pierre-Marie's remaining year, and we think that this is a wise decision as it will grant a bit more stabilty to our Board of Directors. Thus, we now have a new Board comprised of nine IMCA Board Members:

Martin Altmann - Germany
Anne Black - USA
Norbert Classen - Germany
Maria Haas - USA
Jeff Kuyken - Australia
Larry Lebofsky - USA
Peter Marmet - Switzerland
Andrzej S. Pilski - Poland
Sergey Vasiliev - Czech Republic

Nine members from six different countries representing our international association - not that bad, if you ask me! These nine Board members got together, more recently, and voted for the Officers that will serve on the Board for the next year. The new IMCA Board Officers are:

Norbert Classen - President
Anne Black - Vice President
Andrzej S. Pilski - Secretary
Maria Haas - Treasurer

Congratulations to all, and thanks for your confidence. We are looking forward to keep on making the meteorite world a better place, and to serve your interest to the best of our abilities.

All the best,
Norbert Classen
President IMCA Inc.

IMCA Home Page IMCA Code of Ethics IMCA Member List
Join IMCA IMCA Meteorite Info